• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Prof. S. P. Sukhatme

Period of Directorship: 
2 January 1995 to 31 December 1999

Born on November 5, 1938, Professor Sukhatme received his schooling in St.Columba' s High School, New Delhi and obtained his Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering from Banaras Hindu University in 1958. Subsequently he obtained the degrees of Master of Science, Mechanical Engineer and Doctor of Science from M.LT. in U.S.A.. He joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay in 1965 as an Assistant Professor. He was promoted to the post of Professor in 1970 and served as the Head of the Department from 1973 to 1975. In 1982-83, he was a Visiting Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Iowa State University, U.S.A. Professor Sukhatme worked as Deputy Director from December 1983 to December 1985 and as the Director of lIT Bombay from January 1995 to January 2000. He then served as the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board for five years upto January 2005.  


Professor Sukhatme is known for his outstanding contributions both in teaching arid research, in the areas of Heat Transfer and Energy. He has contributed significantly to studies on (i) heat transfer during condensation of liquid metal vapours, (ii) convective heat transfer in external flows, (iii) heat transfer in thermal insulation, (iv)heat transfer from fin arrays, (v) thermodynamic and transport properties of various fluids and their mixtures, and (vi) heat transfer during condensation of refrigerants on integral-fin tubes. He has guided nineteen students for their. Ph.D. degree and published nearly 70 papers. He is also the author of two widely known text books in Heat Transfer and Solar Energy.


Prof. Sukhatme is the recipient of many honours and awards. He received the Prince of Wales Gold Medal for standing first class first in Banaras Hindu University. He was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology in 1983. He was elected as a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences in 1986, a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering in 1987, a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy in 1995 and a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences in 1999. He was awarded the title of Padma Shri by the Government of India in 2001 and was the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. He also received the Om Prakash Bhasin Foundation Award for Engineering and was conferred the title of Dodor of Science (honoris causa) by the Banaras Hindu University in 2001.